Steering Committee

The Steering Committee advised the project team on how to achieve water quality improvement goals with respect to broader on-going municipal, business, residential neighborhood, and cultural interests within the watershed. Steering Committee members were asked to attend four committee meetings held at Ct Department of Environmental Protection in Hartford:

  • November 17, 2008
  • September 21, 2009
  • May 12, 2010
  • June 30, 2010

In addition, Steering Committee members assisted with arrangements for public outreach and professional workshops, as well as ad hoc sub-committees that explore particular issues. Steering Committee members are an important bridge between the planning process and future implementation of watershed management strategies and successful long-term urban environmental stewardship.

Steering Committee Members:

David Askew
District Manager, North Central Conservation District

Francine Christiansen
Christiansen Consulting

Michael Crosbie, AIA
Chair of the Department of Architecture, University of Hartford

Peter Castaldi
Town of Bloomfield Wetland Agent

Jaunice Edwards
Science Teacher and Director Harris Agri-Science Center, Bloomfield High School

Eric Hammerling
Executive Director, Connecticut Forest & Park Association (CFPA)

Doris Johnson
Education & Outreach Coordinator
Office of the Commissioner’s Environmental Justice Program, CT DEP

Mary Ellen Kowalewski, AICP
Director of Community Development Capitol Region Council of Governments (CRCOG)

Kenneth B. Lerman, P.C.
Attorney at Law

Robert E. Moore, P.E.
The Metropolitan District, Chief Administrative Officer

Jonathan E. Mullen
Principal Planner, City of Hartford

Elizabeth Normen
Publisher, Connecticut Explored (formerly Hog River Journal)

Joseph J. Pompei
former Board of Directors President Greater Hartford Jaycees,

Roger Reynolds
Senior Staff Attorney, CT Fund for the Environment

Pat Sullivan
(former Bloomfield business property owner of Fast Fab)

Diane Weinholtz
Middle School Head and Science teacher, Watkinson School

Ken Johnson
Executive Director, Northside Institutional Alliance

Vikki Reski
Wintonbury Land Trust, Bloomfield, CT

Oz Griebel
President and CEO, MetroHartford Alliance

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *